How to fix empty shared folder in vmware guest os

Jules Ntare
2 min readMay 28, 2021

--

Hello everyone, last couple of days I installed vmware guest o.s specifically ubuntu o.s in order to learn networking skills like how web system security works, how can penetrate through open security holes, white hacking, social engineering, system administration, etc.

I now know some basic commands. but I know that mastering any concept, is by practicing. So, I needed to play with commands over some of my file found in windows.

On my host o.s(i.e. windows), I needed to share my htdocs folder to ubuntu guest o.s in order to quickly delete repetitive space-occupying folders using linux commands b combining find, rm, etc.

this means find all files that has name “node_modules” and delete them

Before this command, I tried to share my htdocs folder to my guest o.s and I have already installed vmware tools using open-vm-tools.

sudo apt-get install open-vm-tools

Then shared my htdocs folder to ubuntu guest and when I look into directory via /mnt/hgfs/, I saw nothing. I was like, why only me!

Searched at google, YouTube tutorials, articles, etc., nothing to help me.

At the end, I scrolled at one YouTube tutorial to check if there is somehow encountered the same issue, fortunately I got a savior from someone who needed exact same help like me.

I don’t remember which tutorial exactly but the help was to run below command:

And boom, that is the magic which made it happen. I do not know if I had configured vm-tools wrongly, but who may encountered the same issue, can try my approach.

Thanks, this is my first article anywhere on internet, I can appreciate your feedback and suggestions to me to continue writing helpful stories.

--

--